Red greens and berry smoothie

redgreen3

What do I mean by red greens, you ask? Well, during my most recent TJ’s trip I noticed something new in the salad greens section: heirloom red spinach. My first thought: you are destined for my blender! As you know, I love green smoothies, but I am always loath to add berries to them because the result is a very unappealing brown sludge. So, red greens + berries = a match made in heaven! The red spinach has a very delicate flavor, less chalky than regular spinach. I just can’t get enough of this purply-red (or is it dark magenta? or mauve?) otherworldly delicious, antioxidant-packed beverage.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of red spinach leaves, washed
  • 2/3 cup frozen berries (I used TJ’s Verry Cherry Berry Blend)
  • 1/2 banana, frozen
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup water

redgreen1

Put all your ingredients in the blender, give it a whirl for about 2 minutes, and voila!

redgreen2

 

 

Leave a Reply

