Basic mashed potatoes

mashedtots5

I was never really a mashed potato person growing up, but my husband has taught me to appreciate this simple comfort food (he didn’t have to try very hard, since I have plenty of Polish in my DNA). So now I find myself often motivated to make this satisfyingly starchy side dish. As far as flavorings and condiments, this is one situation where I think less is more – just use high quality ingredients. This version is quick and easy, will be on the table in about 15 minutes. And hey, you can prepare the other parts of the meal while your potatoes are boiling! Vegan substitutions are noted below. Serves 4-6.

Ingredients:

  • About 8-10 medium Yukon Gold potatoes, trimmed/peeled as minimally as you can (their skin is very thin and you won’t notice it once they’re mashed)
  • 2 Tbsp butter OR vegan butter substitute (Earth Balance is my favorite)
  • 1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil (Trader Joe’s cold-pressed kalamata olive oil is my favorite)
  • 1/4 cup whole milk OR unsweetened soymilk
  • Sea salt to taste (pink sea salt, such as Murray River or Himalayan are my favorites for this dish)

 

Cut the potatoes into approx 1 inch cubes.

mashedtots2

Add to about 4 cups salted water in a medium soup pot and bring to a rolling boil for about 10 minutes. Test them periodically for done-ness (a fork should go in easily without resistance). Drain in a colander.

Meanwhile, put the now-empty pot back on the stove and add the butter, which should start melting immediately in the still-warm pot. Add the olive oil and milk. Now add back the potatoes. Smash them using a potato masher for about 1 minute or until they start looking beautiful and creamy and you can’t wait any longer to try them. Season with salt to taste.

mashedtots4

 

4 thoughts on “Basic mashed potatoes

  1. What a great post! I just followed you to stay updated on your future posts and I look forward to them. I recently started my own vegan/political blog, so feel free to check it out and let me know what you think!

    Have a great day! 😀

  2. Pingback: Mashed sweet root veggies | Rofat HaSalat

Leave a comment