Basic green detox smoothie

 

basicgreen2

Green smoothies are my favorite way to supplement my greens intake, especially when I’m having a busy week and suddenly realize I have not had a proper salad in days. There is something very restorative about about drinking a green smoothie any time of day, though I particularly enjoy starting my day with some chlorophyll. I will post all sorts of variations on this theme, but I wanted to post this classic simple version first. Just 4 ingredients, plus water!

Ingredients:

  • 1 small cucumber (or 1/3 of a large English cucumber), washed and sliced
  • 1 small semi-tart apple (my favorites are Jazz, Pink Lady, and Braeburn), washed, cored, and sliced
  • 1 handful of baby spinach (preferable organic!), washed
  • 1/2 meyer lemon, peeled, sliced and de-seeded (Note: if you are not using a high-speed blender I recommend just using the juice of a half lemon rather than the flesh itself. Also, if not using a meyer lemon, consider adding a little bit of honey to sweeten as meyers are sweeter than regular lemons)

 

Add all ingredients to blender container. Add 1.5 cups of cold water. Blend on high speed for about 60 seconds (you want a smooth light green color without any chunks or large visible specks of apple peel).

basicgreen1

 

Notes:

  • You can make this using any blender, however the results are much better in a high-speed blender such as a Bullet or Vitamix. If you don’t have a high speed blender I recommend running the blender a little longer to help achieve the smoothest texture possible.
  • This recipe makes two medium servings. When making smoothies, I like to scale up recipes and make extra (2-3 servings worth) and pack up the extra in mason jars to bring to work. Generally don’t make more than 3 servings at a time as your smoothies will stop tasting their best after more than 3 days…
Leave a Reply

